Ramblings, Random Topics

In the Beginning

I started MurisKnits just over two years ago and it has been quite an exciting adventure building the business and developing the ideas, patterns and strategies for moving forward. I found myself pondering how the whole experience began and thought it would be a fun story to share.

Jan 01 2015These 4 little birds were the catalyst for the creation of MurisKnits!  My work place decided to hold a Secret Santa event two years ago in which everyone had to purchase a holiday ornament of some sort. All of the entries were numbered and everyone picked a number and were awarded their matching gift.  I much prefer making something to buying something, so I came up with the idea of knitting a little Santa bird.  He seemed rather lonely, so I added a second, then a third, and a fourth!! The response to my birds was rather overwhelming and I received quite a few orders from co-workers. I spent most of my Christmas break making other holiday birds and animals and soon came to the realization that I would need to find a market for these little stuffed critters!

1 year and about 300 critters later, I attended my first Christmas craft show and was astounded by the success! I have been lucky enough to receive commissions for a variety of items including Engagement and Wedding Cake toppers, themed birthday gifts, a Get Well Soon decoration, and many, many more!

Since then, I have continued to create a multitude of patterns for ornaments, stockings, and wreaths and decided to start sharing some of patterns through my Etsy and Ravelry stores.

I have recently started adding patterns for accessories to my product line, mittens, cowls, scarves, and wrist warmer,s and I am planning to start my first shawl and sweater designs in the next few months! So Thank You little Santa bird for helping me find my passion and  setting me off on my path of creativity 🙂

How did you get started? I would love to hear your stories of how your business or hobby began!

 

Leave a Reply

