Ramblings, Random Topics

Search for More Energy!!

At first glance, this post may seem unrelated to my usual items focusing on knitting, however, for me it is very closely tied to my passion for my craft!

Not only do I spend somewhere in the neighbourhood of 6 hours a day knitting and developing patterns, but I also work a full-time job outside of the home.  Keeping up the level of energy required to continue at this pace was beginning to feel unattainable until the realization came to me that I was totally ignoring the need to provide my body with the fuel it requires.  Time to get back to focusing on a healthy diet!!

Healthy Fridge

This is my happy, healthy fridge today!!

I had drifted into the lazy habit of making meals from cans and frozen things. Granted, I was buying from the organic section of the grocery store, so these options were still healthier than many other choices, but fresh fruit and vegetables were sadly lacking. Not only had I found that my energy levels were dropping, but my food choices were not leaving me feeling satisfied and were so lacking in colour and flavour!

I am vegan, so meat, eggs, and dairy were already out of the picture, and over the last couple of months, I have eliminated gluten as well. I am now pretty much at the point of having a strictly fruit and vegetable diet, and my meals have never looked or tasted better!

Here’s a sample of some of my new meal plans:

MONDAY – Vegetable Soup

I am not much at following recipes, but tend to throw things together and see how they work out. Above is a photo of a soup mix including peas, grated carrot, spinach, kale, mint, potatoes, garlic, and onion.  I basically just tossed everything in the food processor until it was chopped up and then added boiling water and a little bit of sea salt and turmeric. Served with a slice of gluten free bread, it makes a delicious and very satisfying meal!

TUESDAY – Spinach Pasta

Zucchini

This is definitely one of my all time favourites. I purchased a spiralizer and I love this thing, I am constantly looking for things to spiralize now! The above dish includes spiralized zucchini, crumbled tofu, endamame (soy beans), broccolli, tomato, onion, garlic, olive oil and nutritional yeast (the yeast gives a slightly nutty flavour).  This mix can be heated but also makes a lovely meal served cold.

WEDNESDAY – Red Cabbage Rice

Cabbage

This one was super easy, just cook some brown rice and throw red cabbage, carrot, spinach, cashews, onion and garlic in the food processor with a little bit of olive oil and seasoning. Again, this meal is absolutely delicious served either cold or heated.

THURSDAY – Chick Pea Dip

Bowl

This mixture includes mashed chick peas, zucchini, tomatoes, yellow pepper, fresh mint, peas, kale, spinach and nutritional yeast. The texture is similar to a spinach dip and is perfect served with crackers or a crispy bread.

FRIDAY – Broccolli & Sweet Potato

Brocolli Dip

Last, but by no means least, this mixture is made with sweet potato, broccolli, cashews, nutritional yeast, garlic, onion, yellow pepper, olive oil and seasonings.  Just chuck everying into the food processor and pulse until a paste like consistency is obtained.  It’s lovely as a dip or a sandwich spread and is amazing when tossed with pasta!

I have also added lots of lovely fruit for snacks and this dragon fruit has even inspired me with an idea for a knitting pattern!

Dragon Fruit

My energy levels are definitely on the rise, allowing me to continue to get up at 5am so I have a whole 3 hours of knitting time before heading off to work!!

If anyone is inerested in more specific recipes for any of the above wonderful meals, please let me know and I will post the details.

4 thoughts on “Search for More Energy!!”

Leave a Reply

