Creations, Ornaments, Ramblings, Random Topics, Tips & Tutorials

Fun with Yarn Scraps!

Scraps3.png

So, I really wanted to do something fun with all of my yarn scraps other than dumping them on my cat!

I have a vague memory of seeing someone mix all of their scraps with ModPodge and creating a yarn bowl which looked awesome!  I live in a small downtown apartment so surface space is at a premium, wall space however, is still available!

I mixed a pile of my scraps with a small container of ModPodge and spread the messy mix onto a sheet of wax paper. I then covered the entire surface with plastic wrap (wax paper would work too, but I had run out).  I covered the whole surface with heavy books and left it for a few hours and then removed the plastic.  After leaving it to dry over night, I flipped my creation over, peeled of the wax paper and left it for a few more hours for the back to dry, and here is my finished piece of modern art!

Scraps

Scraps2

The finished effect is just what I was hoping for and whenever I look at it, I am reminded of various projects I completed using some of the yarns!

I still have an entire bin of scraps left so I will have to come up with some more plans of how to use them, any ideas anyone?

1 thought on “Fun with Yarn Scraps!”

  1. I kind of like this idea of a visual memory of all those projects in one place. We all have leftover yarn and wonder what to do with it all (I keep mine because I might need it one day ….. er, really?!) . It reminds me of scrap quilts made from fabric offcuts – the traditional way quilts were put together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

