Random Topics

Knitting Goals for 2017

Well it’s nearly April and I am just now starting my list of goals for 2017. Perhaps one of my goals for next year should be to do this a little earlier in the year, but better late than never!

1.  Master working in the round on double point needles. I have no problem with working on circular needles, but as soon as dpn shows up in a pattern, I either turn the page or decide to modify the pattern to straight needles. It’s finally time to get over this once and for all!

2.   Improve Fair Isle skills. I love Fair Isle patterns and have done quite a few items using this technique but I am never happy with the finished effect.  I have seen many tutorials with suggestions on improving, mainly related to how tightly the yarn is carried in the back of the work, so its time to give some of these tips a try! Did you know – true Fair Isle cannot have more than two colours per row? (I didn’t!)

Fairisle

3. Improve Intarsia skills. Similar to Fair Isle, I am never completely satisfied with my finished work. I believe it’s largely a matter of patience, I don’t take the time to twist the strands when changing the colours and can’t be bothered untangling the colours as I work.

Intarsia
4. Work with higher quality yarns. Not all the time, I just recently designed a mitten pattern and made a couple of pairs of mittens with Red Heart Super Saver Yarn and they are my favourite pairs of all times! A quick hint about this yarn as a side note, if it seems a little stiff, wash the finished item with a little bit of hair conditioner, it works wonders! I always end up cheaping out and not investing in new, higher quality yarns and just stick with the old standards. There is an abundance of riches out there just waiting to be explored!

5. Learn how to do Entrelac  – I did it (Entrelac)! The whole concept of this technique has always panicked me, and now that I have finally given it try, I feel rather silly, it was so much easier to understand than I expected, and really how can someone be afraid of a knitting technique?!

Entrelac finished

6. Learn 2 colour Brioche. This is a technique that I only recently discovered and it looks fascinating, how did miss this all of these years?

7. Knit myself a really nice sweater. NOT cheap yarn, NOT something quick and easy! Like most people who create, I hardly ever make anything for myself and whenever I do, I use old left over yarn and pick a pattern that won’t take much time. This year, I will make myself something awesome!

8. Tackle a more complex lace pattern that I have never tried before. I have always loved knitting lace patterns but tend to stick with slightly simpler designs. As with Fair Isle & Intarsia, it’s largely a matter of patience, I am drawn toward patterns that provide quick results.

Lace

9. Have at least 2 dozen patterns for sale in my Ravelry and Etsy stores. My pattern stores have been open only a short time and I am quite happy with the results but it is time to step it up a notch, add more patterns and start treating it as a business.

10. Learn double sided knitting. I haven’t really thought about trying this technique before although I have always liked the finished look. Another technique to add to my repetoire!

Double Knitting
I will post updates of my finished goals as I work through my list. What are your goals for this year? I would love to hear!

The photos included in this post are from two new books I just recently purchased on which I will be doing reviews in the near future:

Mastering Color Knitting, by Melissa Leapman – Fair Isle, Intarsia and Double Knitting.

750 Knitting Stitches, The Ultimate Knit Stitch Bible – Lace patterns.

2 thoughts on “Knitting Goals for 2017”

Leave a Reply

